Recipe for a Lazy Sunday: CrockPot MexiCasserole

Okay, here goes nothing:  My first recipe post.  Now mind you, I consider myself a more-than-decent cook, but what I’m not good at is measuring, following directions, or giving instruction.  I toss in spices here and there without much regard for what’s a pinch versus a palm-full.  So, in order to share my ultra-easy, no-fuss Crock Pot MexiCasserole recipe with you, I had to discipline myself and measure everything out precisely.  I think it turned out great, but I’ll let you be the judge.  A few notes:

When cooking rice and/or beans in the Crock Pot, slow and low is the preferred method.  So start this dish early in the morning and give it time to come together.  Also, I’ve noted that the chipotle powder is optional because this is what gives the dish its heat; if you’re making this for the whole family, including spice-sensitive kids, you may want to either omit it or cut it in half to 1/8 of a teaspoon.  Lucky for us, our 16-month-old has pretty adventurous taste buds and actually likes some heat to her food.  Finally, this dish – as are all recipes that I’ll share on this blog – is vegetarian because, well, that’s what we are.   If you’re so inclined to omnivorize this meal, go right ahead, but please choose your meat responsibly and consciously.

As I mentioned , this meal is super easy.  It’s also really delicious and filling, perfect for a lazy winter Sunday.  If you ask me, I’d say it’s substantial enough to stand alone, though I could also see it pairing well with a green salad with diced avocado or some lightly toasted olive bread.

I'd bet you've got most of these in your pantry/fridge already!

(Makes 4-6 servings, depending on how much you fill up your bowl.)

  • 1 cup brown rice
  • ½ cup dried black beans
  • 2 cups frozen (or fresh, if in season) peppers/onion mix
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes (any variety, but those mixed with chiles, jalapeños, cilantro & lime, or other Mexi-style flavorings work best)
  • ¼ teaspoon cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon chipotle powder (optional)
  • 2 ½ cups water
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar, Monterey jack, or Mexican-style blend cheese

Toss all ingredients into your Crock Pot or slow-cooker except for the cheese.  Stir, cover, and set to a low/8-hour setting.

While your dinner roasts away in the kitchen, filling your home with a yummy cumin-y, onion-y fragrance, feel free to trot your toddler on down to the playground and get everyone a healthy dose of crisp winter air.

32 weeks preggo

My gorgeous daughter

Once you’re back at the homestead and ready to grub, stir in cheese just before serving.

Cheese is optional, but so, so good.

Scoop into bowls and top with a dollop of sour cream and freshly diced cilantro, if desired.  Enjoy!

A great, big bowl of Yum.

Pin It

Leave a Reply

