Welcome to my Homestead

home·stead: n. 

1. A house, especially a farmhouse, with adjoining buildings and land.
2. Law Property designated by a householder as the householder’s home and protected by law from forced sale to meet debts.
3. Land claimed by a settler or squatter, especially under the Homestead Act.
4. The place where one’s home is.

FINALLY.  I’ve started a blog.

I’ve been told by more than a few people that my Facebook statuses are too verbose; that my neverending posts on birth and breastfeeding and natural parenting and politics and food (okay, well nobody really complains about the food) are excessive; that I really need an outlet for my out-loud musings on motherhood.

So, here it is.  In all its shiny, WordPress-y glory.  My blog, Homestead Instead.

Don’t expect big things from me.  (I certainly don’t.)  I’m going to aim for an entry a week to start.  That’s a manageable goal.  If this thing takes off into the stratosphere of Mommy Blogs like Annie’s from PhD in Parenting or Jill’s from Baby Rabies then I’ll step it up a bit.  For now, though, let’s keep the razzle dazzle to a minimum.

What you’ll be hearing about in this blog, for the most part, will be my adventures in raising the world’s most intelligent, charming, fussy, endearing, impatient, delightful toddler.  My daughter — who shall henceforth be known as “B” — is my universe, a space also shared by my awesome and hardworking husband, Mr. T.  Our universe is ever-expanding, though… as is my waistline.

You see, Baby Number Two is due sometime around the end of February/early March 2012.  I’m psyched beyond reason for this event despite the fact that it means I’ll be saddled with two babies under two to care for from the hours of 7:00 a.m. until 5:-something p.m., five days a week.  You’ll be hearing all about my heartburn and backaches in the coming weeks as I near the finish line for my first homebirth.  (And yep, I’ll talk about that, too.)

You’ll also read about some of our upcoming projects as we adjust to the simpler life and try to live as fiscally independent as possible.  Since I quit the professional workforce to stay at home with my daughter, penny-pinching’s become the name of the game.  Our lives have been turned upside-down (there’ll certainly be a post or two about how we got here, as well) but I have to say we’re quite happy with how things have turned out.  That being said, there’s a lot of comedy around the corner as we attempt to turn our backyard into a self-sustaining vegetable garden (coming Spring/Summer 2012!), and as I attempt to learn how to sew, knit, and craft my way through motherhood.  I’ll be thrift-shopping, upcycling, and Crock-Potting my days away with the kiddos and you, my friend, will have a front-row seat for all the action.  (Please, do try to contain your excitement.)

Now that you’ve been treated to a sneak peek of what’s to come, I’ll wrap this up for now.  I’m excited to put some thoughts on paper (er, screen) about our simple, ordinary life and to document just what happens when a girl ditches the desk job and opts for homestead instead.  Thank you in advance for joining me on this journey.

-Suzanne

4 comments on “Welcome to my Homestead

  1. Katie says:

    i am so much looking forward to this. i miss hearing about your family life, this was one of the reasons i loved working with you!

    katie

  2. Elizabeth Weiler says:

    Hi Suzanne!

    Elizabeth Weiler here. I usually keep a rather low profile on the ol’ Facebook, but I’ve very much appreciated your insights into motherhood, birthing, politics, and beyond. I’ll be sure to log on to your blog frequently! I’d love to hear about your homebirth experience. I’m closing in on my 37th week, at which I’ll have the go-ahead for a homebirth from my midwives if baby decides to enter the world between now and my due date. As I’m rounding out my last week of work before maternity leave, I have a funny feeling my days will strongly resemble what you describe above (Crockpot: check. Thrifting: check. Vegetable garden: check). I also suspect that backyard chickens are in my not-so-distant future. Can’t wait to hear about your family’s adventures…happy homesteading!

    • homesweethomestead says:

      Great to hear from you again, Liz! Congrats on the upcoming birth — how exciting! You’ll do great. It’s a totally transformative and wonderful experience. The pain is nothing compared to the rush you get when you meet your child. I look forward to hearing from you on here, too! We’ll swap Crock Pot recipes and nontoxic weed killer tips. 🙂

  3. Michelle O'Dea Barth says:

    Hey Suzanne,
    It’s quit refreshing to read some of your opinions on Facebook. I am 9 weeks pregnant and feel awfull all the time. Although we are at totally diffferent stages in our pregnancies, I’m glad I’m not alone with many things. It’s so interesting to see how we’ve grown through the years and how are lives are constantly changing, yet exciting at the same time.

Leave a Reply

